skip to Main Content

Citadel Chambers is, in origin, the oldest set of Barristers Chambers in Birmingham and one of the first Chambers established outside the Inns of Court in London. It was initially situated at 77 Colmore Row.

The Law List recorded provincial barristers for the first time in 1909, and in that year there were 30 barristers in Birmingham, of whom 10 were listed as practising from 77 Colmore Row. The Chambers had a wide ranging practice in the fields of crime, chancery, family, industrial injuries, mining, planning, licensing, and intellectual property. It remained in Colmore Row for 50 years before moving to Cavendish House in Waterloo Street,  and then in 1965 to 4 Fountain Court on Steelhouse Lane.

In 2001, 4 Fountain Court merged with Coleridge Chambers and moved to Citadel building at 190 Corporation Street, directly opposite both the old Victoria Law Courts and the new Queen Elizabeth II Law Courts.

Judicial appointments

From the time of Sir Henry Maddocks Q.C., the Recorder of Birmingham in 1925, numerous members of Chambers have been appointed to the senior ranks of the Judiciary. Since the Courts Act in 1971 Chambers has seen the appointment of 23 members, and 16 since 1994, including 3 High Court Judges and 2 Recorders of Birmingham.

Other members of Chambers have been appointed to other judicial positions – Tribunal Chairmen, District Judges and the like. A visitor to Courts in the delightful Hawkes Bay / Gisborne area of the north island of New Zealand might encounter a former member of Chambers sitting as a District Judge (in that jurisdiction, equivalent of Circuit Judge).

At present, 6 members of Chambers sit as Recorders in the Crown Court, and there are 2 part time Tribunal Chairmen/Deputy District Judges.

The most recent appointments have included:

  • The most recent appointments have included:
  • The Honourable Sir John Mitting
  • The late Mr Justice Wakerley
  • The Honourable Sir John Saunders
  • His Honour John Cavell
  • His Honour Simon Tonking (former Recorder of Stafford)
  • His Honour Judge Webb
  • His Honour Judge Glenn (Recorder of Stoke on Trent)
  • His Honour John Maxwell
  • His Honour Patrick Thomas Q.C.
  • His Honour Judge Nawaz
  • His Honour Judge Gosling
  • His Honour Judge Creed
  • Judge Cadbury
  • Judge Parkes
  • The late His Honour Judge Alan Parker
  • His Honour Judge Down (New Zealand)
  • His Honour Judge Bond
  • His Honour Judge Wall Q.C.
Back To Top